Sunday, October 06, 2002

12 to join Ohio's honored women

The Associated Press

        COLUMBUS - Gov. Bob Taft will induct 12 women into the Ohio Women's Hall of Fame at a Statehouse ceremony on Monday. Nominees are evaluated on their contributions to growth and progress and how they inspire others.

        The state established the program in 1978 to honor female leaders and trailblazers.

        Each nominee must have been born in Ohio or lived in the state at least five years.

        The inductees:

        Judy Barker, Franklin County - Leader and innovator in international corporate philanthropy, founder of a philanthropic consulting company.

        Frances Seiberling Buchholzer, Summit County - Conservationist, educator and outdoorswoman, former director of the Ohio Department of Natural Resources; also active in civic, business and cultural affairs.

        The Rev. Joan Brown Campbell, Cuyahoga County - Avid supporter of civil rights and equality, general secretary of the National Council of Churches of Christ.

        Nancy Frankenberg (1912-2002), Delaware County - Activist and volunteer, called “the social conscience of Delaware,” who fostered the development of many social programs and agencies.

        Zell Hart-Deming (circa 1868-1936), Trumbull County - President, general manager and controlling stockholder of the Warren Tribune Chronicle.

        Elsie D. Helsel, Athens County - Activist promoting state and federal legislation to benefit those with mental retardation and other developmental disabilities.

        Katie T. Horstman, Auglaize County - Player in the Fort Wayne Daisies All-American Girls Baseball League and award-winning high school coach.

        Jennie Hwang, Cuyahoga County - Worldwide authority on surface mount technology, which is vital to miniaturization of digital and wireless electronics.

        Cathy Monroe Lewis, Cuyahoga County - Owner of a human resources business, former paramedic and hospital board member who's active in charity and medical organizations.

        Viola Startzman Robertson, Wayne County - Pediatrician and inspiration for the Viola Startzman Free Clinic at Wooster Community Hospital.

        Stefanie Spielman, Franklin County - Breast cancer survivor who established a breast cancer research fund that has raised more than $2 million.

        Kathryn D. Sullivan, Franklin County - First American woman to walk in space, during the October 1984 Challenger space shuttle mission.


'Heart of America' full of questions
Teen volunteer to meet Bush
Special Report: Cincinnati's dental crisis
Where to call for emergency dental care
Goodall follows exhibit back to city
'Battle of Perryville' brings war home to re-enactors
Casino closes under penalty
PULFER: How to win race for time
SMITH-AMOS: Different city, familiar questions
BRONSON: A list of lesser gods we can control
Stakes rise in proficiency tests
Armed Thriftway robber flees with cash
Avondale man found shot to death
Death investigation continues in Norwood
Former loan officer accused of using others' IDs
Good News: Thanking firefighters and police
Homeowner struggles with armed intruders
LaRosa's estimates lost calls at 15,000
Stabbing victim, 75, released from hospital
Butler, Warren to celebrate bicentennials
Growing church prepares for more
Health board moving beyond the pill
Arrest made in Pendleton stabbing
Monday is deadline for voter signup
Ohio horses with W. Nile virus up fourfold
- 12 to join Ohio's honored women
Lawrenceburg man shot to death