Wednesday, March 10, 2004

A-10 Tournament tidbits

Top single-game scoring performance: Tom Garrick, Rhode Island; 50, vs. Temple, 1988.

A-10 tournament scoring leader: Mark Macon, Temple, 207 points in 10 games, 1988-1991.

Most championships: Temple, 6.

Most finals reached: Temple, 13.

Best tourney winning percentage: Villanova, .818 (9-2).

Top tournament moments:

1977: The league holds its first championship tournament, where Duquesne beats Villanova 57-54. Duquesne's Norm Nixon is named Most Outstanding Player.

1988: Rhode Island's Tom Garrick scores an A-10 record 50 points, but the Rams lose to Temple 68-63 in the final.

1995: Massachusett's Lou Roe earns most outstanding player honors and his fourth all-tournament selection after leading UMass to its fourth straight title, 63-44, over Temple. Roe is the only A-10 player to be on four all-tourney teams.

1999: Lamar Odom's buzzer-beating jump shot gives Rhode Island the title in a 62-59 victory over Temple.

Tournament preview section

Conference USA teams see prominence arrive too late
Leader a quiet force for UC
Fan's guide to the C-USA tournament
C-USA Tournament tidbits
C-USA Tournament trivia

Pressure-cooker success may determine NCAA bids
Muskies' A-10 goal: Boost NCAA odds
Fan's guide to the A-10 Tournament
A-10 Tournament tidbits
A-10 Tournament trivia

C-USA gives Bobbitt its sixth-man award
UK begins planting NCAA No. 1 seed
NCAA Tournament invitation takes NKU players by surprise
Player who broke color barrier dies
Tournament scores & schedules