Saturday, March 20, 2004

The Cincinnati Enquirer

Two career educators highlight the list of eight women who are 2004 winners of the YWCA Career Women of Achievement.

In its 25th year, the annual effort to honor women who have made a difference in their community adds:

Dr. Yvette Casey-Hunter, chief medical officer at Winton Hills and West End health centers. She believes the medical community must be willing to provide medical care based on need rather than economics.

She is an advocate and vocal supporter of community health care clinics as a way to provide accessible and affordable health care to all children.

Diane Dewbrey, senior vice president at Fifth Third Bank and the bank's highest-ranking female officer. She oversees 3,600 employees who are responsible for back-office operations.

She is a founding member of the United Way Women's Leadership Initiative for the Alexis de Tocqueville Society, treasurer of the Metro Board of Directors for the YMCA and a member of the Board of Trustees for the Cincinnati Museum Center.

Renee B. Dunn, human resources director/global marketing for the Procter & Gamble Co. She is the first woman to act as global HR leader for marketing functions at the consumer products titan.

Her community work includes serving on the board of Dress for Success, Summit Country Day School and the Cincinnati Business Incubator. She also served on the board of the YWCA and chaired the 1999 YWCA Salute to Career Women of Achievement.

Anita J. Ellis, director of curatorial affairs and curator of decorative arts, Cincinnati Art Museum. She conceived of and promoted the development of the Cincinnati Wing, which made the art museum the first in the nation to dedicate permanent space to the art history of its city.

She's considered the foremost authority on Rookwood pottery and the art of ceramicist M. Louise McLaughlin, promotes community art by presenting seminars at workshops and is a mentor and teacher to university students.

Amy L. Hanson, president of FACS Group Inc. a division of Federated Department Stores. She is one of the highest-ranking women at Federated and oversees 3,500 employees who manage a $4 billion accounts receivable portfolio and more than $6 billion annually in proprietary credit transactions.

She is assistant treasurer of the board and finance committee of Stepping Stones and a member of the Women's Initiative group for United Way's Alexis de Tocqueville Society.

Dr. Jane E. Henney, senior vice president and provost for health affairs at the University of Cincinnati Medical Center. She was the first woman commissioner of the U.S. Food and Drug Administration.

She was also the first woman deputy director of the National Cancer Institute and the first woman vice president for health sciences at the University of New Mexico.

Sharon D. Johnson, principal at Withrow University High School. She is a former principal at Parham Elementary School, where she turned around achievement scores and received national attention from former U.S. Secretary of Education Richard Riley.

Honors include the Mayor's Salute to Education Award, the Jacobs Award for Outstanding Administrator and the Black Business and Professional Award.

Nancy L. Zimpher, Ph.D., the president of the University of Cincinnati. She started last fall and has launched a planning process that involves a vision for the university for the 21st century.

She serves on the Cincinnati Business Committee. Board memberships include the Greater Cincinnati Chamber of Commerce, the Cincinnati Center City Development Corp., the Greater Cincinnati Convention and Visitors Bureau and the United Way of Greater of Greater Cincinnati.

The 2004 YWCA Career Women of Achievement winners

Water will connect homes of up to $2M
Ashland leaving oil business
Eight women broke barriers
List of YWCA Career Woman of Achievement winners
$325M deal ends Global Crossing suit
Chiquita Center changes hands
Long-term coverage needs right balance
Jury still thinking in Tyco execs' trial
Tristate summary