Wednesday, May 5, 2004

37 area students are winners of National Merit Scholarships

By Sue Kiesewetter
Enquirer contributor

Lakota East: Douglas Brown
Lakota West: Kristal Dobbins (Honorary Merit Scholarship), Shengy Mao (Cognis Corp, Merit Scholarship)
Cincinnati Country Day:
Jason Juang, April Yee
Cincinnati Hills Christian Academy: Jennifer Allen (BP America Inc.)
Indian Hill: Jing Liu, Linsey Rogers (International Paper Merit Scholarship)
McAuley: Katherine Hart, Elizabeth Meng (Northrop Grumman Merit Scholarship),
Moeller: David King, Daniel Schwallie (Tomkins Corp. Foundation), Thomas Lapille
Princeton: Andrew Stephan
St. Xavier High School: Joseph Knadler, Robert Hobohm, Gregory Lim, Kyle Karches, Nicholas Wolterman (American Financial Group Merit Scholarship), Francis Bergh (Gannett Foundation/Madelyn P. Jennings Merit Scholarship)
St. Ursula Academy: Katherine Schroer, Emily Broun,
Seven Hills: Megan Hoffmann, Katherine Menzies, Yarl Balachandran, Thomas W. Collins (Aon Corp. Merit Scholarship)
Summit Country Day: Lisa Cosgrove
Sycamore High School: Jacob Lee, Nitin Sekar, Dennis Jiang
Walnut Hills High School: Roaxanne Corkin, Andrew Meiser
Wyoming High School: Elizabeth Kersten, Phillip Roebuck-
Kings High School:
Kera Halbersleben
Dixie Heights High School:
Timothy Miller
Holy Cross District High School: Paul Schlarman
Thirty-seven Greater Cincinnati seniors are among 3,550 nationally receiving scholarships through the National Merit Scholarship Program, which recognizes the nation's top students.

They were selected from 15,000 finalists and 1.3 million high school students who entered the program by taking the 2002 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test as juniors.

All finalists compete for one of the National Merit $2,500 Scholarships. The number of winners in each state is based on its percentage of the national total of graduating seniors.

A selection committee that included college admissions officers and high school counselors reviewed the information submitted by finalists and their schools, evaluating each finalist's academic record, scores from two standardized tests, leadership, essay and a written recommendation.

The winners were judged to have the strongest combination of accomplishments, skills and potential for success.

Students received the $2,500 one-time awards from the National Merit Scholarship Corp. or from a private firm. The private awards vary in amount.

On May 26 and July 12, the corporation will name winners of college-sponsored Merit Scholarship awards. About 8,000 of the 15,000 finalists are expected to receive scholarships.

Bush shores up SW Ohio support
Bush says Maupin is in his prayers
Enough to make a voter's head spin
What's in bus tour name? Apparently a lot
Monitors kept melee in control
Clergy abuse suits stay, for now
Cicada an oddity among oddities

Bypass widening not likely until 2008 or 2009
College Hill extension OK'd
Judge keeps Condon jailed
Search for Carrie near end?
Hughes defeats Shell in primary
EPA will explain Liberty cleanup
News briefs
Lunken advisers support expansion
Madeira fields scarce
Madeira moving more students
Area students are scholarship winners
Neighbors briefs
Public safety briefs
Girls' birth rates still low
Forum focuses on teen driving

Their labor of love eases pain of loss

Dr. Donald Ebersold could heal with laughter
Gardening columnist Morehouse a nurturer

Beer sales rejected for store
Kentucky News Briefs
Politicians may budge on budget
TANK selling kids on benefits of bus
Kenton speeds up felony cases
Two high-profile professors leave UK