In the Line of Duty
A Special Section of The Cincinnati Enquirer
On December 5, 1997, Officer Daniel J. Pope, 35, and Spc. Ronald D. Jeter, 34,
were in the middle of their 8 p.m. to 4 a.m. shift when they went to a Clifton Heights
apartment to serve a warrant on Alonzo Davenport.
Their guns were still in their holsters, and they apparently never had a chance to fire
back when they were shot in the head at close range.



'Killing a cop fractures
the very foundation
upon which our
society is built.'

- The Rev. Mark Pruden


Thursday, January 1, 1998
Officer's wife thanks community for support
Closure difficult for police families
Web sites, memorials, tributes

Monday, December 22, 1997
Show of sympathy amazes chief

Thursday, December 18, 1997
Fatal bullets fit killer's gun

Wednesday, December 17, 1997
Witness to killings sent home

Monday, December 15, 1997
Unraveling officers' last minutes
Tears won't stop for officers - Cliff Radel column

Sunday, December 14, 1997
Ordinary day, tragic night
Funerals over, police seek facts
Amazing grace - Peter Bronson column

Saturday, December 13, 1997
Second hero laid to rest
Officer 'didn't die in vain'
A response to violence: Teach peace - Krista Ramsey column
Four charged in funeral unrest

Friday, December 12, 1997
Tears burn again for Spc. Jeter
Caller did everything he could
Caravan will head up I-71 to funeral
Public feels guilt, sadness
Hundreds attend killer's funeral

Thursday, December 11, 1997
A hero's farewell: Officer Pope laid to rest
Homily: Faith eases hurt, anger
Spc. Jeter's visitation today
Piper's sad song sends a fallen fellow officer home - Cliff Radel Column

Wednesday, December 10, 1997
Pope visitation: Thousands pay their respects
Witness: Killer hid gun in pants
Pastor hopes funeral brings peace
Spc. Jeter's organs donated

Tuesday, December 9, 1997
911 boss admits error likely
Borgman cartoon
Shock, grief and guilt - Laura Pulfer column
City thanks slain heroes
Killer's family visits his home
Many officers limited in experience
Forces across Tristate take heed
Names to be added to memorial

Monday, December 8, 1997
Argument preceded shooting
Tragedy puts face on job - Cliff Radel column
Families lean on faith, memories
Friends, acquaintances mourn
Grief stays, say families who know
Police deaths declining

Sunday, December 7, 1997
Community mourns fallen officers
Sequence of events
Officers highly regarded
Officers deal with sorrow, job's risks
Chief's message: 'Take care of each other'
Suspect's family: He was 'respectful'
Hollister St. residents shocked